Home » Uncategorized » Being of Service on Carpet Day!

Being of Service on Carpet Day!

A Year of Being Kind blog – Tuesday, April 15, 2014

animated-pictures-of-people-working-together-i4.gif

Being of Service on Carpet Day!

Today was the day—the day the carpet was laid. (It looks superb, by the way!)

I worked like a pack animal to get my house ready for the carpet layers. The biggest, most time-consuming thing was packing up all of our books. My husband is a book lover. He married another book lover. We have a child who is also a book lover. I rarely can say “No!” when I am asked to purchase a book. So the children know I’m a sucker for a good book.

It took some time, but finally all of our books went downstairs to the basement. Thank God we did not have any more to pack, since it’s getting to be a bit crowded in the laundry room!

My continuing acts of service involved the apartment. First packing, next cleaning, and then getting each room unloaded as much as possible. I did whatever I could to assist the guys. The carpet guys were wonderful. Speedy in and out, and extremely thorough.

God, how should I take this situation? Sure, I can simply accept it at face value, and be very grateful to the carpet guys. (Which I am, fear not! I communicated that fully.) But I have referred to God as my General Contractor before. That’s very true. Maybe God has some plans for my spiritual life. Or, my emotional life. Or possibly, God might let me rest easy for a little, instead of having a constantly challenging life. It’s a day at a time, whatever happens.

Like I said at the beginning of this post, I’ve been getting ready for the carpet guys for some days. Now, after the carpet has been installed, I need to put the house back together. Wish me the best. If you could, prayers gladly accepted, please!

I wonder. What kind of service will God send my way tomorrow?

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Leave a Reply

