Home » Uncategorized » Praying for a Kind Solution in an Unjust World

Praying for a Kind Solution in an Unjust World

A Year of Being Kind blog – Monday, November 24, 2014

JUSTICE do, think

Praying for a Kind Solution in an Unjust World

I looked at Twitter tonight, after things really broke loose. What I saw there made my heart break.

For those of you who have not been following the news in the past few days (or weeks), the Grand Jury made its decision, concerning the (white) police officer who killed a (black) teenager several months ago. The Grand Jury found the police officer not guilty on all five counts.

After viewing the reactions for some fifteen minutes (and clicking on a few links), I posted my own response on Twitter: “St Francis’s prayer comes to mind: “Lord make me an instrument of your peace.” Praying for justice, clarity of mind, open ears. #Ferguson

I do not have much else to say, other than 1) thank you to Michael Brown’s family for recommending that people find positive, responsible ways to change society and change the justice system; 2) God be with everyone who is on the streets tonight, no matter who or where they may be—protect each one; 3) some fool was foolish enough to release the grand jury findings so late in the day. (Foolish, to the nth degree!)

That’s all. Except, with this addendum. I ask God to allow cooler, more sober heads to prevail. And, I repeat a portion of my tweet, “Praying for justice, clarity of mind, open ears.”

Dear Lord, help me to be of service to all those who are struggling for justice in an unjust world. On many, many fronts. So be it, Lord!

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Leave a Reply

