Home » Uncategorized » Speedy Delivery? No, Helpful Delivery!

Speedy Delivery? No, Helpful Delivery!

A Year of Being Kind blog – Monday, September 15, 2014

colorful flower bouquet

Speedy Delivery? No, Helpful Delivery!

Flowers can be so lovely and bright. Yesterday, in church, we had an especially pretty arrangement on the altar. Our church doesn’t have a huge floral piece each Sunday; it’s more on the modest size. But what it lacks in size, it more than makes up for in beauty and cheerfulness!

The general practice at my church is that the person who purchases the flowers each week gets to bring them home after church. Well, the senior who bought yesterday’s flowers in honor and memory of one of their loved ones did not have the opportunity to attend worship service yesterday. This morning, I called over to the senior’s apartment. Yes, I was able to dash over there before lunch and deliver the flowers. Speedy quick!

We sat down after I dropped by, and had a pleasant time talking for a good long time. How helpful is that? To bring over a pretty bouquet? You bet!

Yes, this is all in a day’s work for me. Sure, I can pay a visit, ask intelligent questions, and say a prayer before I leave. But people really appreciate my visit. How do I know, you ask? Well, they engage in close, intimate conversation with me, and they tell me they enjoy having me there. And, I use my friendly smile often. For example, today. I had my smile-ly face all set and ready. (Both my inward, courteous smile as well as the outward, friendly smile.) And, why not?

I’ve found you don’t have to be a senior citizen to enjoy flowers. Especially the flowers from our church. In the same vein, you don’t have to be a shut-in or homebound, either. A number of businesses and St. Luke’s Church. Thank God for gorgeous things in this world. Even routine things like the weekly altar flowers at the church.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Leave a Reply

