Home » Uncategorized » Being Helpful? Re-Tweeting about NAMI!

Being Helpful? Re-Tweeting about NAMI!

A Year of Being Kind blog – Wednesday, September 3, 2014

LOVE heart candle flower

Being Helpful? Re-Tweeting about NAMI!

I read a heartbreaking blog post today. It was about space, and television, and that alien from the planet Ork, Robin Williams. And yes, it was about depression. And other mood disorders. I also made a new blogging friend today in Joani, Episcopal priest and blogger at Unorthodox & Unhinged (Tales of a Manic Christian) at wordpress.com.

Initially, I found a link to this post on Facebook, in a large group where both Joani and I are members. I followed the link, read this post, and I was so moved that I retweeted it on Twitter, at my handle @chaplaineliza. What Joani also mentioned was that NAMI began their annual conference today in Washington D.C. What is NAMI, you ask? The National Alliance on Mental Illness. And, tomorrow is ‪#‎Act4MentalHealth: Thursday, September 4th. The day that mental health advocates are going to march on Capitol Hill, as well as take action online, to push for comprehensive mental health care, nationwide.

The brilliantly funny Robin Williams (or, Mork) had the disorder chronic depression. Joani’s description of it in her blog post was so poignant. I quote: “Depression and its companion mania are commonly misunderstood. Happiness and sadness are ordinary human emotions. They ebb and flow with the ups and downs of everyday life and they ebb and flow in us all. But different in kind are the moods that manifest themselves in the heights of mania and in the depths of depression.”

Her description seemed achingly familiar, in a distant way. I don’t often willingly think or talk about this, but I had a bout of severe postpartum depression after the birth of my second daughter, 28 years ago. Talk about a Slough of Despond . . .

I can dimly remember feeling barely able to get out of bed. Crawling around the apartment like a snail or slug, barely able to go from bedroom to bathroom to kitchen. It’s a good thing that my daughter was breastfeeding, since I can hardly remember feeding myself and my older daughter, much less her. (My mother-in-law was living in the upstairs apartment at the time. She would often bring her older granddaughter, who was the light of her life, upstairs to visit.)

The depression lasted for about six months. I had absolutely no idea I was in depression until it lifted. I have no idea how or why it ended, either. I just thank God that it did.

In retrospect, I thank God for my mother-in-law and for my mother. I also am thankful for my (now, former) husband, for managing one day at a time through these dark days. I never spoke to him about the depression, not until a very long time afterwards.

Joani’s post ended on a hopeful, positive note. God loves us so much. So much more than any of us can comprehend. As she closed her post, “That the whole world would taste and see that God is good.  Be they Christian, Jew, Muslim, Hindu, Buddhist, Mormon, Scientologist, Wiccan, Agnostic, Atheist, Romulan, Vulcan, Klingon, Earthling, or none of the above — . We may be lost in life, bereft in death. We may be lost in this place and in this time, but lost to God — NEVER.”

(If anyone would like to read Joani’s post in its entirety, you may find it here: http://celticjlp.wordpress.com/2014/08/14/lost-in-space-maybe-lost-to-god-never/ )

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

4 thoughts on “Being Helpful? Re-Tweeting about NAMI!

  1. Thanks for writing this Elisabeth. I know what it is like to come out of the thinking soup of depression and see a new world unfold to you. Would you like to write a guest post for Turning the Page?

    • The gray-ness of depression is something I try to forget. Usually. Except, for Wednesday’s and Thursday’s blog posts.

      Thanks so much, Barry! Yes, I would like to write a guest post, very much. Let me know what you are thinking about, regarding topics, length, and tone.

    • No problem, Candy. I want to let many people know that they are not alone, isolated, cut off from everyone else. That is one of the miracles of the Internet and social media–people who DO feel alone and isolated, for whatever reason, have the opportunity to come together. To join in fellowship with others on the outskirts, or the fringe, or even beyond the frontier. I am naturally an encouraging, caring person. (Maybe that’s why I gravitate towards the chaplaincy and pastoral care!) It’s wonderful to connect with you further. Take good care.

Leave a Reply

