Home » Uncategorized » Someone Being Kind—to Me. Thank you!

Someone Being Kind—to Me. Thank you!

A Year of Being Kind blog – Tuesday, August 12, 2014

THANKFUL always something to be thankful for

Someone was kind to me today. I appreciated it so much!

But that was later on. Earlier in the day, I went to work. I took care of some necessary business in my office, and several important emails, too. Just about all were things that I needed to handle in a timely manner. And calendar items. Planning for events coming up. I still have several more immediate things on my desk, but that’s okay. I can take care of them in the morning.

This being Tuesday, I read to the preschool and kindergarten children. The children are really enjoying my reading books, and get all excited when I come into the classrooms. I enjoy it, too! But my time at the church was getting short. I had a luncheon appointment.

My oldest daughter and I had arranged to go out for lunch today, several days ago. But you could have knocked me over with a feather when she told me she was paying for lunch today. Wow!

I mentioned here, some days ago, that I took care of my daughter’s cat. My oldest daughter and her roommate have an apartment not far from where I live. While the two of them were out of town, I stopped by and visited the cat every day. I gave her food and water, and took care of the litter box. My daughter very much appreciated my attentiveness to the cat. I never expected my daughter to give me anything like a nice lunch! (I told her so, too.) But, no. That’s what she wanted to do for me. So, who was I to say no?

Afterwards, later this afternoon, I was reflecting on acceptance of gifts. Gracious acceptance, and saying thank you. This is not a skill that I learned easily. No way! Believe me, it was an excruciating, gradual process. I never learned it from my parents, when I was a small child. (They seemed to do all right, socially, but didn’t pass on the information to me.) I got a little bit of instruction in manners from a kind older lady at church, but not much. This was when I was in the middle and upper grades of elementary school. I was a naïve teenager. Intelligent in terms of book-smart, but woefully unprepared for life, in terms of manners, social graces and street smarts.

I have improved greatly, since then. That seems like several lifetimes ago. Now, I can easily thank people for their kindnesses towards me. When others go out of their way to be helpful, I so appreciate it. I know how to say “thank you,” and do.

And of course, God gives me regular opportunities to say “thank you.”

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Leave a Reply

