Home » Uncategorized » A Year of Being Kind—Halfway Point

A Year of Being Kind—Halfway Point

A Year of Being Kind blog – Monday, June 30, 2014

begin where you are

A Year of Being Kind—Halfway Point

It’s a prudent idea to take stock, at times. Evaluate. Look back. Not that I’m always prudent, but I try to be. Six months have gone by since I started this blog. Each day in the past months I have been faithful to this effort of actively looking for ways of being kind. Opportunities for service. And faithful to recording my efforts, too.

Originally, I planned each month to focus on a different aspect of service. In January, I wanted to concentrate on being kind. (As long as my blog is titled “A Year of Being Kind,” I wanted to start the year like that.) I’ve been told a number of times that I often act in a naturally kind and tenderhearted manner. When the idea for this blog concept came to me in December, I felt that it was a natural thing for me!

Looking back, I haven’t focused as much on the Bible verses that I chose for each month this year. True, it was a great idea, in the concept stage. That is, choosing a specific verse as a background for each month of service in 2014. I initially thought about using my choice of verse as subtext to my month’s service, as well as for my month’s blogs. It just didn’t always happen that way. Not that I am incredibly disappointed or downhearted about how my blog has developed, organically. No! It just worked out differently that I had originally thought. That’s all.

I’ve discovered that I can do something as simple as smile my friendly smile. Share the gift of my smile with another human being. And sometimes, that’s enough. A simple, friendly expression can do wonders for someone else. I know.

I can do elaborate, complex things for others, too. Things that require a good deal of planning. Individuals have come to me immediately afterwards, or days, or even months afterwards, and told me how much my service has meant to them.

Today, a telephone call was my way of being kind, directly. I think the person I talked to appreciated my friendly, cheerful voice on the other end of the line. Thank God that I can offer that gift to others.

With God’s help, I have chosen this Year of Being Kind to be a year of opportunity for me. I know I have shared with you that I asked God-as-I-understand-God for opportunities to help others and be of service. I also want to be gifted with opportunities for me. For my personal growth and development, too. The opportunities keep right on happening, for sure.

Yes, it is a continuing journey. A daunting, exciting, up-and-down journey. Now that six months have passed, I have some idea what lies ahead. More months of service! Will you continue with me?

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Leave a Reply

