Home » Uncategorized » Of Airports and Expressways

Of Airports and Expressways

A Year of Being Kind blog – Monday, May 26, 2014

BK kindness is contagious

Of Airports and Expressways

I visited both major airports in Chicago today. Really!

Picked up various family members at both Midway and O’Hare airports today. I was very glad to be able to serve in this way. I appreciated some time with my family members in a more intimate setting, rather than just at the reunion tomorrow! I mean, that will be wonderful, too. Seeing all of our various family members? Sure! But it’s also great to have some quiet, friendly talk in an intimate conversation. Giving people a ride in my car provided just that opportunity.

I can remember family reunions and extended relatives all at some dinner. Everyone sitting around the dinner table. Imagine the hullabaloo when I ask questions about their lives! It’s so hard to divide the time into nice, neat little portions. So hard when I consider the desire for connection that is so ultimately important I should not concern my self with just trying to hold on, to serve as best I can.

What about you? Have you been in a similar situation (like, for example, I wanted to earnestly talk with some family member or some other thing)? Although, the impromptu dinner we had at my sister’s house was great tonight. And the conversation! I had forgotten what a joy it is when we all get going (through talking, of course!).

I’m sure tomorrow will hold even more interesting parts. But for today, I am very glad I volunteered to be kind—I mean, pick people up at the airport.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

Leave a Reply

