Home » Uncategorized » Listen Up! Being Helpful

Listen Up! Being Helpful

A Year of Being Kind blog – Wednesday, April 9, 2014

BK one kind word

Listen Up! Being Helpful

Talk about a busy day! Running here, running there. I keep It’s a good thing I cancelled my appointment for a haircut this afternoon, because I am dog-tired. Packing things up at home. Running to work. Several meetings. Doing a couple of errands. Whew! At the end of the day, my feet hurt—and I wear sensible shoes.

But I honestly tried to be helpful and kind. I listened to several people today. I hope they felt my encouragement. I truly tried to show my support. One particular instance was where I needed to respond, too. I hope and pray that I communicated faithfully. As well as listen faithfully, too.

Sometimes it is helpful to just listen. But listen with intentionality. Actively listen, as I’ve been trained to do. I remember the first instance I had formal classes in this. It was in Stephen training, where I learned how to serve as a Stephen Minister. I very much enjoyed this service as a compassionate friend in Christ. I offered a listening ear to hear of someone’s spiritual, emotional and—sometimes—very real physical pain and suffering. Stephen training was excellent. My leaders and teachers communicated effectively, too. And, I felt truly supported and lifted up as I went through a difficult time in my own life, right in the middle of training. (Perhaps that was why God had me in that place at that time. Remind me to ask God about that when I see God, by and by.)

Listening is important for some people, too. I’m thinking especially of those individuals who are sometimes passed over. Ignored. Even criticized or snubbed. I try to listen to just about everyone. I really do. But God knows that I am busy from time to time. I recognize when I need to gently cut someone off. Of course, that was a bit easier when I served as a chaplain in the hospital. When the pager went off, people would well understand that I needed to go, and right away, too!

But, still. I try not to overlook people. I suspect that’s because I have felt overlooked, snubbed and ignored sometimes. Thank God that I can make time to be fully present with and for people. I can even go out of my way to show individuals that I truly care and am interested in them and their activities, their concerns, and especially their feelings.

God, thanks for always taking the time to listen to me, too. You’re never in a hurry, or stressed, or upset. You always concern Yourself with me. With my activities, and especially my feelings. Thanks for lowering my anxiety and distress, God, as well as being right by my side in the good times. You are awesome.

@chaplaineliza

Like what you read? Disagree? Share your thoughts with your loved ones and continue the conversation.

5 thoughts on “Listen Up! Being Helpful

  1. I am certain that my higher power listens. Learning to listen to others, accepting that what they say is true from their viewpoint, has not been easy to learn. But real listening is useful even when it is not perfect. Listening to myself is another matter, one that may reveal what I am stuck on and need to ask my higher power for help with.

    • Real listening to myself? You are so right. That’s the difficult part. I try to cut through the crud in my life and get to the real stuff. The challenging stuff. And I do need to ask my HP for help. Regularly! Thanks for the reminder.

    • I’m so glad this resonated with you. Yes, because God listens to me ANY time, I need to be willing to listen to others. I thank God for the excellent training I’ve received! It helps me focus and continue to be encouraging. Thanks for your encouragement!

  2. Pingback: ‘Being Kind’, is the new ‘cool’ | News Report Leads

Leave a Reply

